The Future Is As Bright As The Promises Of God

Strength When Needed

I remember an occasion as a young man when I felt as though I were undergoing an unfair experience. I resented very greatly that all this should be happening to me, for it seemed so much greater than anything my peers had to suffer. I cried out, “Why me, Lord?” I read the verse from 1 Corinthians 10:13, and it dawned upon me that if God would not allow temptations beyond our strength, then my strength must be above average, since my test was above average. I came to see it as a backhanded compliment and actually felt comforted by the thought. Looking back, I can see how much my ego was involved in the incident–even in the experience of comfort. Today I understand more clearly that the strength I had at the time was just a temporary loan to me from above and was not my innate strength. Nevertheless I believe all the more firmly today that if another experience like that comes along, I shall again be strengthened to bear it. You truly may not be able to bear some trials with the strength you now have, but when that heavy trial comes sufficient strength will come along with it.
Charles D. Bass

Comments on: "Strength When Needed" (1)

  1. Thank you for this.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

