The Future Is As Bright As The Promises Of God

Beloved Children Of God

“My little children, I am writing these things to you so that you may not sin. And if anyone sins, we have an Advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous; and He Himself is the propitiation for our sins; and not for ours only, but also for those of the whole world. By this we know that we have come to know Him, if we keep His commandments. The one who says, “I have come to know Him,” and does not keep His commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him; But whoever keeps His word, in him the love of God has truly been perfected. By this we know that we are in Him: the one who says he abides in Him ought himself to walk in the same manner as He walked.” 1 John 2:1-6 (NASB)
Christian good works flow from a Christian’s identity. You only get apples from an apple tree. You can’t pick apples from a thorn bush! Our being precedes our doing.
Sometimes people say, “Well, we may be members of different denominations, but we are all working to go to the same place.” But Christians are not those who are working hard to get somewhere or to make the grade with God; we are those who have arrived! We are not nobodies earnestly trying to become somebodies. We are royalty, God’s own beloved children.
We don’t have to spend our lives trying to prove our love for God because in Jesus God had proved His love for us. This makes all the difference.
So our good deeds are done because we are God’s children, not in order to be God’s children. We are simply trying to live in accordance with who we are.
“Everyone who has this hope fixed on Him purifies himself, just as He is pure” (1 John 3:3). We are surprised to find that, day by day, in our attempt to live the Christian life, to simply be whom we are called to be, we become as we have been called–beloved children of God.
We are those who are given a hope and, because of that hope, live lives which are determined by it. It is a hope which does not let us go, even in–especially in–our sin. Even when we betrayed Him, He did not cease calling us His children.

Comments on: "Beloved Children Of God" (13)

  1. This is so true and reassuring. Just wish I wasn’t so angry with him so much of the time. At times, I feel as though he’s listening. Other times, not so much.

  2. atimetoshare said:

    He is listening all the time. He will answer when it fits the plan he has outlined for your life. Trust in his faithfulness and then let him do his work.

    • Yes, I feel this (that he’s listening) most of the time. Just wish he could give me a clue as to what to do next. Sometimes, I truly lack direction. I know you’re right. I try to trust. I’m a work in progress. 😉 *hug*

      • atimetoshare said:

        I know what you mean. I’m 72 years old and I still have times of doubt. I consider myself a work in progress too and I think God looks at us in this way as well. It’s too bad we don’t get more succinct answers,but we have to believe he knows what’s best for us. God bless you!

      • Aw, thanks! And may God bless you! 😉

  3. I just wanted to let you know that I learn and am inspired by you. As a way of thanking you for your Godly efforts, I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. As someone who writes for God’s glory, I understand if you do not want to follow the instructions posted on my blog, http://www.disciplesthoughts.com, but I also understand that this give us opportunities to share the word to a larger audience. May the Blessings of God be heaped abundantly on you.

  4. Thank you. That was much needed today.

    Blessings,
    Sandra Brooks McCravy

  5. Reblogged this on Sandra's Blessings and commented:
    Beloved Children of God…

  6. This is so good! Thanks for sharing it.
    Blessings,
    Tricia

  7. This is a truth I keep repeating to the Japanese, because Buddhism is very works oriented. That’s probably why JWs have found easier acceptance than true Christianity.

  8. Reblogged this on ForeSight and commented:
    Christianity is not just another religion but a lifestyle,a new life born out a relationship with Jesus Christ. Any other way outside the life of Jesus in us is mechanical and mundane.

  9. i like your wording “our being precedes our doing” and thanks for following me, too. Visit my website barbaraafbrehon.com and read more about growing in grace.

  10. beautiful words to live by!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

