The Future Is As Bright As The Promises Of God

“Now in those days John the Baptist came, preaching in the wilderness of Judea, saying, ‘Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.’  And they were being baptized by him in the Jordan River, as they confessed their sins.  But when he saw the Pharisees and Sadducees coming for baptism, he said to them, ‘You brood of vipers, who warned you to flee from the wrath to come?  Therefore bear fruit in keeping with repentance;'”  Matthew 3:1-2, 6-8  (NASB)
Repentance is not easy. It involves honesty with ourselves and with God. It involves the admission and confession of sin to ourselves and to God. It involves changing the direction of our lives (behavior, thoughts, and attitudes). It involves living our lives in a way that demonstrates our repentance is real.
It seems that religious people, including Christians, have a difficult time repenting. For some reason we lose the ability to repent. I am talking about people like you and me. We go to church, we pray, we sing, we grow up hearing about Jesus–and for some reason we become numb to it all. We become comfortable in our religion and our routines. And before we know it, our lives have become fake.
We can, like the Pharisees and Sadducees become hypocrites–too blind to see our own sins and too trusting in our own religious heritage and traditions. Many of us have grown up in Christian families, attended church, maybe even served as leaders in the church–yet without much evidence of a changed life or without realizing that we have left the path and life of righteousness.
The Pharisees and Sadducees trusted so much in their religious lineage and traditions that they could not see their own moral impairment. We face the same danger today! The question is, what will our response be to God? Will we hear and heed the words of His prophet, John the Baptist, or will we, like the Pharisees and Sadducees, turn a deaf ear to him.

Comments on: "Religion And Repentance Don’t Always Mix" (7)

  1. For me, repentance requires humility, which is why it’s so difficult, because humility is not part of our prideful human nature. I believe the remedy for our lack of repentance is to focus our attention on the Holy Spirit, rather than on “self.” And if we can muster up enough humility to let the Spirit into our lives, He will show us the path to true humility… and true repentance.
    I don’t believe we should stress about our lack of repentance. I believe we should instead focus on our relationship with the Holy Spirit. He will then lead us to repentance.

  2. […] the difficulties some of us have with sincerely apologizing to God for our sins… repentance. (see it here). Why is it hard for Christians to sincerely […]

  3. Reblogged this on belifteddotme and commented:
    very true.. it’s beyond religion!

  4. This is so true. I believe the main reason Christians have a difficult time with repenting is because our society places extreme focus on
    development of the self. If we admit to sin, confess sin.. then there has to be something wrong with us. And today’s feel good theology tells
    us we are OK. God still love you. We can live a life filled with compromise if we can accept that God loves us anyway. There is also so much
    focus on perfecting the physical body yet our insides are rotting away.

    Matthew 23:25-26 “Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! For you cleanse the outside of the cup and dish, but inside they are
    full of extortion and self-indulgence. Blind Pharisee, first cleanse the inside of the cup and dish, that the outside of them may be clean also.”

    Also, how many church goers actually read their bible? And if they hear a great message at church, how many take the message to heart?
    Whatever message tugged at their heart…it probably never left the church building. The scriptures tells us that we must repent, that we need
    to confess our sins and get right with God. Repentance would not be difficult, surprising, or scary…if believers, church goers… knew it was a
    requirement to follow Christ (as if they don’t know). We are to examine ourselves. We ask God to search our hearts and reveal any iniquity in
    us that we may confess and get right before Him. No one wants to confront the Christian deep in sin for fear of judgement, and conviction.
    That’s just my opinion.

    Job 13:23
    “How many are my iniquities and sins? Make known to me my rebellion and my sin.

    Psalms 32:3-5
    When I kept silent about my sin, my body wasted away Through my groaning all day long. For day and night Your hand was heavy upon me;
    My vitality was drained away as with the fever heat of summer. I acknowledged my sin to You, And my iniquity I did not hide; I said, “I will
    confess my transgressions to the LORD”; And You forgave the guilt of my sin.

    Jeremiah 31:19
    ‘For after I turned back, I repented; And after I was instructed, I smote on my thigh; I was ashamed and also humiliated Because
    I bore the reproach of my youth.’

    Lamentations 3:40
    Let us examine and probe our ways, And let us return to the LORD.

    Ezekiel 18:27-28
    “Again, when a wicked man turns away from his wickedness which he has committed and practices justice and righteousness, he will save
    his life. “Because he considered and turned away from all his transgressions which he had committed, he shall surely live; he shall not die.

    Haggai 1:5-7
    Now therefore, thus says the LORD of hosts, “Consider your ways! “You have sown much, but harvest little; you eat, but there is not enough
    to be satisfied; you drink, but there is not enough to become drunk; you put on clothing, but no one is warm enough; and he who earns,
    earns wages to put into a purse with holes.” Thus says the LORD of hosts, “Consider your ways!

    1 Corinthians 11:27-31
    Therefore whoever eats the bread or drinks the cup of the Lord in an unworthy manner, shall be guilty of the body and the blood of the Lord.
    But a man must examine himself, and in so doing he is to eat of the bread and drink of the cup. For he who eats and drinks, eats and drinks
    judgment to himself if he does not judge the body rightly.

    2 Corinthians 13:5
    Test yourselves to see if you are in the faith; examine yourselves! Or do you not recognize this about yourselves, that Jesus Christ is in
    you–unless indeed you fail the test?

    Ps. 139
    Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me, and know my anxieties; 24 And see if there is any wicked way in me, And lead me in the way everlasting.

    Ecclesiastes 12:14 “For God will bring every work into judgment, including every secret thing, whether good or evil.

  5. If one cannot humble oneself, all good things are blocked from the spirit.

  6. I really like your posts. Let’s rise up and preach the undiluted word of God, and let he who has an ear hear…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

