The Future Is As Bright As The Promises Of God

Archive for November 10, 2014

Retaliation

“Bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you. Whoever hits you on the cheek, offer him the other also; and whoever takes your coat, do not withhold your shirt from him either.” Luke 6:28-29 (NASB)
Our natural tendency is to say, “If you hit me, I will hit you back.” But agape love (which involves a decision of the will, not a feeling of the heart) says, “I will not stoop to your level; I will not hit you back.” In many situations we could retaliate quite strongly, but agape love chooses not to do so.
Does Jesus want us to be doormats for people to step on and trample? Do we always have to stand by and let others hurt us and take advantage of us? Not necessarily (1 Corinthians 6:1-7). The key question is; “What is at stake if I exercise my rights?” In other words, “Will the cause for Christ suffer loss in order for me to gain, or will my loss serve to advance the cause of Christ”?
Sometimes the best thing we can do is to let people know that we could seek retaliation for their act of unkindness, but for the sake of Christ we choose not to do so. Our position of strength is not in beating our enemy, but in letting him know that he is a beneficiary of our grace.

Tag Cloud