The Future Is As Bright As The Promises Of God

“My Lord And My God”

“Thomas answered and said to Him, ‘My Lord and my God!'” John 20:28 (NASB)
Jesus turned to Thomas and encouraged him to touch the scars in His hands and side. There is no indication that Thomas did so. To see Jesus was enough. And Thomas spoke the greatest confession found in the New Testament: “My Lord and my God!”
Thomas had come to believe that Jesus was alive; even more, that Jesus was divine. He was God. There is no deeper understanding than to realize that this One who had become flesh and lived among other human beings was not only human but shared the same nature as the Father Himself. Meeting the risen Lord enabled Thomas to make this confession. And this is the confession that all people need to make.
Jesus commended Thomas for his confession, but He knew that people in future generations would not have the same privilege of seeing the risen Lord with physical eyes. Others would have to believe without seeing. And God makes it possible for people to meet the risen Lord in other ways than seeing Him with their physical eyes. And in meeting Him, their troubled souls are quieted, they are commissioned to work, and they confess with Thomas, “My Lord and my God.”

Comments on: "“My Lord And My God”" (1)

  1. Well..Thomas apparently felt pretty strongly that Jesus was God huh?
    I really like your thoughts. Brief and to the point and filled with relevancy. I look forward to reading them every day.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

