The Future Is As Bright As The Promises Of God

Archive for June 10, 2007

Keep Your Cool

Saturday I decided to go to the local DQ for lunch.  When I told the young lady behind the counter that I would like to order a hamburger, she immediately responded, “Cheese on that?”

An uncontrollable surge of violent rage suddenly engulfed my entire body.  My mind went blank, I was in a daze, confused.  “Did I order a cheeseburger?” I thought to myself, “No, I’m sure I ordered a hamburger, and a hamburger doesn’t have cheese.”

“No!” I snapped, “I want a hamburger!”

 As I sat at my booth eating a cheeseburger with no cheese, shamed by my behavior, I tried to think of some verses of Scripture dealing with cheese. The only one that came to mind was Job 10:10, “Didst Thou pour me out like milk, and curdle me like cheese?”  I knew that was of no spiritual help in my current situation but I did recall several verses that address anger.

As I silently cited a few verses and regained my composure, I thought, “How weak can a man be?  I’m really in trouble if I let a piece of cheese get to me.”  Then I remembered a bumper sticker I saw several years ago, “If you really love Jesus, keep your cool.  Anyone can honk.”

When ordering at the local DQ in the future, I will simply and graciously say, “A cheeseburger with no cheese, please.”