The Future Is As Bright As The Promises Of God

Experience Needed

“Remember also your Creator in the days of your youth, before the evil days come and the years draw near when you will say, ‘I have no delight in them.'” Ecclesiastes 12:1 (NASB)
Teens and young adults usually don’t like to be told what to do. Advice, even good advice, may be ignored or even resented. Instead of trying to tell them what to do, we can tell them what we have done. This requires us to be vulnerable and to humble ourselves, but the result may be worth it. Young people often reject pious platitudes and holy clichés, but they listen when we open up and reveal some of our worst mistakes. We can tell them of some of our most terrible decisions — we can also inform them of our best choices.
Young people are not stupid; they just lack experience. If we share our experiences with them, we can help them make wise choices.

Comments on: "Experience Needed" (3)

  1. atimetoshare said:

    The older I get, the more resistant I become. I don’t like having my life planned by others. I like doing things my way. I guess you could say I’m stubborn. Maybe we really do revert to a second childhood when we age! Great post, as always.

  2. As the parent of a 17 year old hormonal teenager I agree!

  3. […] Experience Needed – by Redbird’s Roost […]

Leave a comment